Saturday, April 13, 2013

Haters gonna Hate (Capcom)

So for the first time on this blog I'm not doing a review! Consider this a Rant. These are on the dot writings that I am doing that express my feelings
(negative) towards something.
So who am I gonna yell at today? CAPCOM. 
Why am I yelling at them? Because they hate one of my newest favorite video game character
Mega Man. 






So when did all of this negative activity originate? In the year 2010.
 _______________________________________
    This was the year that Capcom announced the development of two highly anticipated Mega Man games. Mega Man legends 3 and Mega Man Universe. Legends 3 was the third installment to the only full on 3D series in the mega man franchise. Mega Man Universe was meant to be an awesome remake of the greatest Mega Man game ever, Mega Man Mega 2.
    So Mega Man fans everywhere were so excited for the upcoming games and couldn't wait to pick up their copies and play them. Unfortunately, 
 not all was peaceful in the Mega Man fandom.
Now to be honest  I wasn't a Mega Man fan when all this was happening so for me it didn't really matter.  Now I look back and say, "These looked awesome, why aren't these real games?"






So why did all of this negativity originate? There's one reason that everyone believes is the cause of the hate of Mega Man.
_________________________________________

The creator of the Mega Man franchise, Keiji Inafune, had left Capcom on bad terms. No one really knows an exact reason why he left, but most fans believe that it was because of a negative matter. After Inafune left, Capcom stopped production on most Mega Man game projects that were on at the time, two of which are expressed above. This is probably Capcom's way of getting back at Inafune. Whatever he did to upset them must have really been bad. 

I originally thought that it was because Inafune was the guy they went to to make a game like Mega Man. I thought that without Inafune, Capcom had no idea how to make a Mega Man game. Obviously that was a dumb assumption.

I'm not giving up hope though. There's no way Capcom can go on for so long and keep the famous "blue bomber" out of the picture for such a long time. Many people say that Mega Man will return possible as soon as... heck. this year. So in conclusion, don't be hating on Mega Man, Capcom, he still makes money and it's your simplest of games to make.
DON'T STOP THE ROCKMAN!

Tuesday, March 12, 2013

A NEW review for a not so NEW game....

Well no doubt about it. Nintendo games ROCK!
Rehashes of Nintendo games BLOW!
There for rehashes of Nintendo Games BLOW ROCKS!

What am I getting at here? Well perhaps I should tell you about one of Nintendo's most rehashed of recent games. New Super Mario Bros...
























Back in 2006 a whole new generation of consoles had just been set free. The X Box360, PS3, and Wii were the consoles to rise up in this year. But one of the most looked at consoles that year was actually the new DS.

Nintendo is known for being the guru of portable gaming. With the only competition being Sony with the Play Station Portable (how great was that?), the DS was a guarantee for attention. But it wouldn't be long before Nintendo would put their all famous plumber on the system. Not long after we received the game NEW Super Mario Bros. Back in the day this seemed like an awesome idea. Super Mario bros with 2.5d graphics, new game play moves, a whole assortment of new bosses and power ups, it seemed like an awesome idea and it was.

Fast forward to 2009 and we once again recieve another New Super Mario Game. New Super Mario Bros Wii was the first 2-D Mario platformer to be on a home console since Super Mario World back in 1991. MY GOD THAT'S A LONG TIME!

Mario Wii sold like hot cakes. Millions of copies were purchased world wide and everyone that had a Wii had to get it. Problem with this game was that even though it was a multiplayer game it was built for a single player experience. That and it got kinda repetitive after a while. It was still good just wouldn't be my first choice.

Fast forward to 2012 and the DS and Wii's successors, the 3DS and Wii U have been released and now have NEW Super Mario Bros games as well.....

As a matter of fact yes. Both New Super Mario Bros 2 and New Super Mario Bros U were released within 5 months of each other. This is the problem. What exactly is so NEW about it if 2 installments are released with in that kind of time span? On another note, what's so new about a series established in 2006? But 

I may be a hard core Mario fan but I know when to stop and think about these things. I've played all four of these games and in my order of favorites.

1.New Super Mario Bros U
2.New Super Mario Bros 2
3.New Super Mario Bros DS
4.New Super Mario Bros Wii

Fun Fact.... Mario U is Mario's first HD game. Yes, after almost 30 years he gets an HD game. Well there's always a first for something. 

Here we see what makes New Super Mario Bros U really stick out. The Map. It takes note from Super Mario World by way of one large continous map as opposed to separate individual ones. I loved this addition to the game. It was really interesting to see this set up again. Starting from Acorn Plains to.... Peach's castle? Okay... odd destination... I mean aren't we supposed to be going to Bowser's castle? Why would she be held captive in her own castle?

Ah you find out for yourself. SO with an assortment of secrets, shortcuts and a multitude of levels, the map's levels are full of fun. The whole game is amazing and I highly recommend it.

As for my second favorite. New Super Mario Bros 2. Though I consider it to be the worst in the series, the only reason why it's my second favorite in the series is because it's a portable installment and it's a lot more posh.


<--NOSTALGIA!!!




True New Super Mario Bros DS was also a portable game but that's a 2006 game. I prefer the nicer looking, more recent game. Another thing is that the DS was the most diverse when it came to enemies and power ups but again, it's obsolete. Only problem with 2 is that..... ooohhhhh

Coins..COins...COINS....COINS!!!!

This game makes Zimbabwe look like the richest country on Earth! The Mushroom Kingdom probably doesn't even have an economy any more because of this.  


Yeah so. With that many coins it's as easy as to get 1ups as it is to get a pass in Stroup's Class. That and it's probably the laziest attempt at a New Super Mario Bros game EVER! No new soundtrack, reuse of graphics. Only things that make it NEW are the coin rush and the Raccoon Tail.

DS and Wii are pretty good but like I said I prefer the latest installments and compared to 2 and U they're really not that special. DS is better mostly because it's the one that has the most variety in Bosses (not much but hey I'd rather fight someone new after each world as opposed to fight the same guy twice each world.)

So in the end, are these game really worth it? Indeed they are. As similar as each one is to each other they all have their own identity. It all depends on which console you have. You got a DS and a Wii. Get either one but if you have a 3DS and a Wii U, get any one you want but I highly suggest you get one of the later ones. 

Hope you enjoy and I'll be doing so more writings and reviews another time. So see ya!

LIES!!






Friday, February 22, 2013

A COMICAL review of a COMIC...eh?


Uhhhhhh.... okay..... let's do this. Whether you're a brony or not it doesn't matter. I got a voice and I WILL have it heard.

My Little Pony Comics 1/Miniseries 1

 Now for those of you who don't know, My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic is a rather popular series (especially among older men). While the actual TV show is still sticking with the originally intended "little girl" audience, Hasbro went and decided to do something to accommodate the older fans. And so a few deals later, MLP the comic was made.

I own all the issues available to-date (all four of them) and I'm 75% impressed with it.
I'm glad you asked Mr... Who ever you are.... 3 of the issues are pretty good. The fourth..... Well I'll show you.

 One thing that's very obvious is that the art isn't very impressive, The graphics on the show are like 20% better than the graphics here and if you read the entire comic and you're a huge fan of the series, you would be very disappointed.

Compare it to the page above. This is an excerpt from the Mane Series(pun). Which one looks more impressive? The main series is much darker and has better writing than the miniseries and obviously looks like it had more effort put into it. And besides......






<- How is this not adorable?





So yeah. The highlight of the story is that the main character Twilight Sparkle (no Twilight Saga jokes please)  is assigned by her teacher, Princess Celestia, to go and take care of the literary archivist of the royal library. The archivist, Summer Mane, had broken her leg and had been unable to do any work on her own.

Coincidently, Twilight herself is a librarian and she's always wanted to see the inside of the royal library so she decides to go to the library to take care of her. When she arrives and meets Summer for the first time Summer isn't exactly pleased with her and tries to shoo Twilight away, but through some clever bluffs Twilight gains Summer's trust and is allowed in. Essentially the whole comic shows Twilight reorganizing books and helping Summer around the library. In one of the panels they even reference Carly Rae Jepsen's "Call Me Maybe" in there, there's actually a lot of pop-culture references in this one.

So near the end, Summer decides to go out on the town for a little exercise. While she's gone Twilight explores around more and eventually ends up in Summer's office. But suddenly Summer returns and tells Twilight to get back to work. After MORE rearranging of books, Summer tells Twilight to leave and tell Princess Celestia that she doesn't anyone to look after her. After a poor attempt at getting the reader to cry, an obvious twist comes into play.

Turns out Summer Mane is actually a famous author named Jade Singer!!...

and Jade Singer is Twilight's favorite author. Essentially Jade went into hiding and gave up her writing career after her first book became a totally successful sell-out. Which... really doesn't make any sense....



You beat me to it Keanu. See Jade thought that because her first book was so great that if she continued in her work she would have to have the second book live up to the first's legacy. I understand why she would feel that way but that's no excuse for closing yourself off from the world. Seriously Twilight's the first pony in like...ever to see her and know her true identity.

So yeah, Twilight says she would like to be Jade's friend and that she doesn't have to be afraid of the outside world anymore. Later, in another really bad coincidence, Twilight gets a letter from Celestia saying that she and Jade were really good friends several years ago and after the first book came out Jade became really distant. So she thanks Twilight for getting her friend back out in the open and gives her a pass for the assignment.

<-Jade's cutie mark.










And there ya go....

So my final thoughts are;
the story's totally predictable, written badly and kinda cliche
the art style is mediocre and sloppy
and it seems like a bad fan-fiction rather than a comic.
I didn't really enjoy it but I'm such a nerd that I had to get it anyway. If you're curious about the show and want to waste $2.99, be my guest. (You probably won't)

As for the Main Series.




<--JESUS!

I thought this was My Little Pony not Tales From the Crypt! No no that was a bad joke and I should feel bad I know.










So unlike the miniseries, the mane series (there it is again) takes place on the same continuity as the show. Here it takes place after the second season and before the third season.


So it starts out with the Cutiemark Crusaders,
(Applebloom-Yellow earth pony,
Sweetie Belle-White unicorn,
Scootaloo-Orange pegasus,)
camping out in the back yard of Fluttershy (another mane character [okay I'll stop] of the show.)
They're trying to get their cutiemarks in Zoology by studing the plants and animals of the area. Unfortunately while doing this they get fillynapped (yes that's what it's called) and the comic cuts to the next day.

And now our focus is set on the Mane 6 (that's not a pun that's actually what they're called). The ponies of Ponyville, except our six heroes, seem to be acting like zombies for some reason. The six friends run from the herd of "undead" ponies and hide in Twilight's library. While there they look up some of Twilight's notes to find out what could possibly be going on.

They theorize that the ponies had been replaced by changelings.... (Changeling description here)
....and head out only to discover that their theory is correct.



<-It's the eyes it's gotta be the eyes!
So after some battling and annoying jokes, we see the antagonist of our story. 


QUEEN CHRYSALIS! QUEEN OF THE CHANGELINGS!

<- Ain't she a doll?





So guess what happened to the Cutiemark Crusaders.....





Yes, Queen Chrysalis has kidnapped the Cutiemark Crusaders and now it's up to our six heroes to save them.

So they travel through Equestria....                                          .....end up getting separated.....
                                         
                                               And we get some backstory on the story arch.

And that's all I can really tell you. So far only three issues are out so the arch isn't complete. That and I don't want to spoil it. Teehee So yeah my opinion on this is....

The art work is pretty good, the story isn't half bad and this darker tone that the comic takes is a tone  that the show would be better off with. I think each issue was totally worth buying and personally Queen Chrysalis is my favorite villain in the series, (my last favorite villain was reformed during the third season), so I'm glad she's getting some attention.

For you non-bronies out there reading this, if you're curious about the series and want to see what it's like, at least get the comic, there's only three issues and I still think it's better than the show. (Especially since the third season is now over and we won't be getting a new episode until after summer.) 

So concludes my first review, and don't worry not all my reviews will be on MLP comics. There'll be more comic reviews on other series and some game and movie reviews. So I hope you learned something and until next time, see ya. 

So it begins.

So as I begin this blog off may I say that this will be one interesting assignment. So you all already know me if you're in my Creative Writing class but for those who don't know what I said in the last two sentences, I'm writing this blog as an assignment for my Creative Writing class. I'm Paul Davidson. My main interests are video games, comic books about video games, video game music, and a little thing I like to call My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic. NOW A TEST!

Nah Nah I won't be like that. Anyways this is my first post. I have a Tumblr as well (Photon Tumblr) I don't really use it though.

The thing I really want to do with this is get my ideas and opinions out. I'm thinking of doing mostly reviews and maybe put in a story or journal every once in a while.

 So yeah. Don't get bored.
Oh and for those who want to know, THAT is why Bronies exist.
Definition of a Brony.